The In-App Messaging feature in the AOne Schools mobile app allows teachers as well as guardians to communicate through personal chats and group conversations. This guide explains how each feature works.
Add Members to a Group Message
Group Admins can add new participants to keep conversations relevant and ensure the right people are included.
Teachers who are Group Admins with “Update” permission can add new members to the group.
To add new members to a group, you may follow the steps below:
- Log in to the AOne Schools Mobile App
- Tap the Message icon
- Open the group message
- Tap the Action button
- Select View Details
- Tap Edit
- Tap Add Group Members
Choosing and Selecting the Members
You will now enter the Add Group Members page. This page will show all users registered to the school.
To help you find the right people more easily, you can use the following features:
- Filter by Role
Filter users by their role (e.g., Teacher, Guardian, Admin) - Filter by Lesson
Select one active lesson to show teachers assigned to the selected lesson, and/or guardians
whose students are enrolled in the selected lesson (Active and Frozen student statuses only) - Search by Name
Note: You can combine multiple filters to narrow down the results.
For example you can use “Filter by Lesson” together with “Filter by Role”
Once you have found the person you want to add, you can:
- Tick the checkbox next to the user’s name
- Selected members will move to the top of the list
- You will see a summary indicating the number of members added
What New Members Can See
Newly added members will automatically join the group conversation and will only be able to view messages sent after they were added, and cannot access previous conversations.
All group members also will see a notification in the chat when new users are added:
- If 1 - 3 members are added, the notification will be:
“[Admin Name] has added [User 1], [User 2], [User 3] to the group” - If more than 3 members are added, the notification will be:
“[Admin Name] has added [User 1], [User 2], [User 3] and more to the group”
Managing Members (For Group Admins)
If you are a Group Admin, and have the “Update” permission, you can manage group members and roles within the group.
This section explains the available management actions
Removing Member
To remove a member from the group:
- Tap the X icon next to the member’s name
- Confirm the removal when prompted
Once the member has been removed:
- A success notification will be displayed
- The selected member will be removed from the group
- An information banner will appear in the chat room to notify the group
Promoting a Member to Admin
- Tap Add as Admin next to the member’s name
- Confirm the action when prompted
Removing Admin Role
To remove a member from the Admin role:
- Tap Remove as Admin
- Confirm the action
Related to this action, please note the following:
- A group must always have at least one Admin
- If only one Admin exists, the system will prevent removal
- If you remove your own Admin role, your view will switch to Member mode
Was this article helpful?
That’s Great!
Thank you for your feedback
Sorry! We couldn't be helpful
Thank you for your feedback
Feedback sent
We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article